Remember me?

It’s been a while, eh? Over a year, in fact. I’m (somewhat) embarrassed to admit that I missed this space after I closed the blog down and even went through a short grieving period when my days over over-sharing Evelyn’s life were over. Blogging – and this community – was a big part of my life for years, and it was somewhat emotional for me to let go.

Shortly after I closed down Solo Mama at the end of May 2016, I got an email from someone, a reader and fellow mom blogger who goes by the name of Bri. She also has a daughter, who is about 1/2 a year younger than Evelyn. We’d emailed off and on since 2015, but nothing that went beyond a cursory blogger online friendship. After I hit publish on my farewell post, Bri sent me an email letting me know she’d miss the blog. It was a short email, but one sentence in particular resonated:

 I feel like I know you even though we have never met. 

Huh. Well…me too. And so I did something out of character. I emailed her back and gave her my phone number. It is not my habit to give my phone number out to random bloggers on the southern end of the continent. But, I did. I told her to text me if she wanted to stay in touch. And, she did.

On June 3rd, 2016, Bri sent me the first of what would go on to be countless texts exchanged between us. And that was the ordinary day just like any other day that completely changed my life. Within the span of a year(ish), she’d gone from a virtual stranger, to a virtual friend, to the one I can’t live without.

Although I could fill my days with sending Bri emails, I felt the urge to return to blogging.  “Once a writer, always a writer”, and so I’m back in the blogging world, this time writing less about Evelyn and more about me.

Anyway – if you’re curious about what my life is like as a solo mom in a long-distance relationship or just want to read something when you’re bored or you have a deep-seated need to see couples selfies, please visit my new website, Barf Bags Not Included. I hope to see you there.

9 thoughts on “Remember me?

  1. OMG! I randomly said, “let me see if she happened to post anything since she left” and look at what I found!!! 😃 I am so happy for you and did miss the little bits and pieces of your life that you were so kind and brave to share. I too am in a LDR (my second) and boy do I know how hard it can get. Thank you for sharing again. You have NO idea what sharing can do to for someone you don’t know. 😊

    • Would you believe I was just thinking about you last week? I was and wondered what you’re up to! Where does your gf live? How’d you meet? You don’t have to answer all of that here! But I’d love an update when you have time. I hope you’re doing well!

      • OMG really? I didn’t think you remembered me. Aww, I’m so happy to know you do/did. 😃
        So my GF lives in NJ now but she was in CA then moved to the East coast for Med. School. She actually found me on FB after asking someone who I was after seeing me in a restaurant. The person she asked was someone I used to work with. At first I was livid that they gave my name but after I was so happy they did. Lol. It’s been about three years and it’s so hard because of our schedules (school and work). I recently graduated so it should be better this year (fingers crossed). We are only a couple hours away from one another but it’s just as hard as if we were still across the country. Technology is a lifesaver though; Skype, Kik video and Facetime, if possible.. I binge read your post on your new site and am hooked. Lol. So happy to know you are happy and like I said, if you write a book, I will be first in line to buy. Lol. I love the way you write and express yourself, it’s pretty admirable.

        Until next time,
        Kema 😊

Share your thoughts

